Back to School

I was on Facebook the other week and a friends post caught my eye. This particular friend I have known for the past 4 years or so. He was on staff at SON-Life Camp with me and we’ve stayed in touch over the years.

Anyway he graduated from college (Huntington University I might add- go Foresters!) last spring. He noticed a few weeks ago that the leaves on the trees were changing color, the days seemed shorter and cooler. And began to think about how he wasn’t going back to school this fall. He had graduated. No more dorm parties (if they do that at HU). No more classes.

So I did what every good friend would do… I responded to his posting. I said… You know it has been 9 years and I still can’t get used to not going back to school. In fact, I still have messed up dreams about forgetting about tests or homework or other things.
I know this is kind of a weird start to this thought but for those of you who are going back to school, or work or whatever this fall. How is it going? Some of you just started just today! So great time to challenge you in this.

School is a great place (I know some of you are thinking, you don’t even know about my school) but follow me. School and friends and that atmosphere is a great place to challenge each other.

Today I listened to a Pod Cast from another good friend of mine. We’ve been friends for 18 years or so, but who’s counting. As I listened he shared of struggles he had during high school, and as he did I began to weep. I didn’t see many of those things, and I was a close friend. I felt as if I had let him down, but was encouraged to see how God had used him and how his testimony shows Gods awesome plan.

As you look to this year… Make the most out of it. Carpe Deim- Seize the day. Make the most of every moment whether in math class or hanging with your friends. Challenge them to “be all they can be” for Christ. Or challenge them where they are spiritually.

Remember Jesus words-“Love the Lord your God with All your heart, and with All your soul, and with All your mind, and with all Your strength. And love your neighbor as yourself. (Mark 12:30-31)

Leave a comment