Stay Thirsty My Friends

It is almost impossible for me to watch TV lately without seeing beer commercials, especially when I watch any sports.   But one commercial seems to keep coming up lately.  I know already I have started my devotional thought with taking about beer commercials, you are probably already thinking that I have finally stepped over the edge or are really confused wondering where I am really going with this but hang with me.

A couple weeks ago, right during the middle of summer camp, I tried to challenge the summer staff at camp to think about how important of a role water plays in their lives.  That they need to keep themselves hydrated during a hot summer.  Not only do we need to keep ourselves physically hydrated but also that we needed to keep ourselves spiritually hydrated. 

So back to the commercial…The commercial I am thinking of is promotes their product by having the “most interesting man in the world” as their spokesperson.  The tag line is “stay thirsty my friends.”   

 Matthew 5:6 says: Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they will be filled.

We should thirst for right living (righteousness). You see the reason the tag line works so well so well for us spiritually is that there is fulfillment to come.  We shouldn’t just thirst, and stay thirsty.  (You know they say that being thirsty is the first sign of dehydration).  It would like being out on a hot day in the sun, having your water bottle and not drinking from it.  You have the source in God, in scripture, go to it, and be filled.

May you stay thirsty for God everyday.  And may your thirst be quenched and hunger be filled by Him!

Leave a comment